Whole brain Lesson At Work: Letter Writing

Today I taught my first graders how to write a letter, and I whole brained that baby!  I modeled the parts of the letter, taught them a song with actions, and then used a graphic organizer of a body to help them remember the components of a letter.  I had my students “Mirror” both my words and gestures when learning the parts.  I was able to chunk my lesson into small portions, so my students would be able to retain the information.  After mirroring, we did “Teach-Okay”.  Students were able to teach their partner the parts of a friendly letter with gestures, then we “Switched”.  I have set up a post-office in my room, where my students can write and mail letters to friends in our school during literacy center time.  At the end of the day the student mail carriers sort the letters and deliver them to the desired location.  Please see the pictures of myself modeling the parts of the letter with gestures. The pictures are pretty cheesy, but get the point across.  I also have included printable letter forms, and the Friendly Letter writing Song.  For more information on Teach-Okay and Mirror sign up and log into wholebrainteaching.com.

6            IMG_9854

1  2

3  4

5    FriendlyLetterTemplateDownload the Letter Body template here.FriendlyLetterTemplate

Download other letter writing printables here.

LetterFormbyjudybonzer

PS. I want to give a shout out to our wonderful custodian Mr. Brian( who is also a wonderful artist)…Thank you so much for making the mailbox for our class!

2 thoughts on “Whole brain Lesson At Work: Letter Writing

Leave a comment