Motivating Your Students the Whole Brain Way

A WBT classroom is a constantly rewarding, no failure environment. (www.wholebrainteaching.com) Using “Woo!” and “It’s Cool” in your classroom motivates your students to stay involved in your lessons and makes them feel safe to take risks.  When you tell students to give someone a “10 Finger Woo”, they will point their fingers at that student and say “Woo!”  My students love giving a ‘Rolling Woo”, which is wiggling your 10 fingers and saying “woo” at the same time!   When I say a cheer command to my students I will say: “Give (student name) a 10 Finger Woo!”

From my experience, I have learned students often will not want to participate for fear of giving the wrong answer.  “It’s Cool” helps eliminate that.  If someone gives an incorrect answer I say, “It’s Cool!” My class repeats “It’s Cool!”  Students quickly learn that its okay to make mistakes and everyone makes them!  Students love to be praised for their efforts and quickly realize they are in a safe environment where they can be risk takers. 

I feel so strongly about motivating my students’ to learn and to praise each other.  I have incorporated other cheers with gestures into my classroom as well.   Many of these cheers are just quick little positive chants with hand and body gestures.  These cheers help to keep my students motivated, encouraged, and on task.  My students get so excited to praise their classmates, and provide them with encouraging words.  The cheers help to maintain a culture of respect in my classroom.  And to that I say, “WOO!!”  

Here is an example of my class practicing their cheers.  Click on the movie to see the cheers in action!

Class cheers

To download a list of cheers I do with my class click here.

Motivational Cheers

cheer-clipart-2

Leave a comment